What a Script Supervisor does

So when I first started this blog I said I would explain what a Script Supervisor does and I realized I have failed to do that!

20120821-135955.jpg

I learned to script supervise from the late Robert Gary in 2005. He was an incredible man that had an amazing career. I’m so thankful to have had the opportunity to learn from him.

So here is what I do:

1- Create a log for the editors and assistant editors to use when cutting the media together.

2- Make notes on the script page to show what has been covered and how much coverage there is.

3- Work with the actors to get the dialogue as close to the script as possible. And help track dialogue changes from the writers.

4- Supervise all of the continuity. (ie: correct clothes, correct props, etc)
But most especially the continuity within the scene.
(ie: what the actor/actress is holding, when they stand, when they take a drink, etc.)

5- Provide the scene number for the camera and sound departments for the slate (aka Clapper).

6- Provide the editor with notes from the director. (favorite takes, what shot the scene should start with, etc.)

This job holds a lot of responsibly and great attention to detail. It certainly isn’t for everyone but I love it. The hours can be brutal, our standard day is 12 hours but i have worked anywhere from 6-23 hour days!! This week I am only working 8 hour day which feels weird and short, But It is really nice to be able to work and have a life at the same time.

I’d love to answer your questions about what I do and this crazy business! Ask away.

One response

  1. Hi Danielle! I have great admiration for script supervisors! I watch them walk around with their notebooks open, with the script, intense! They get to sit on director’s chairs! I love my job! I get to observe the crew people as they work very hard, but all appear to absolutely love what they do! In the almost 10yrs of doing background most are very nice. I get to watch the directors and ADs go through the creative process, on set that would be fine tuning. (That’s where you come in, adding the changes to the script!) And… I’m a fan of the steady cam man on Glee! Amazing these guys! Thanks for inviting me to this blog! I look forward to exploring it further! God bless and I hope to see you on set sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

