This upside down cake from ‘Baker on the Rise’ looks so amazing! I cant wait to bake it this fall.

Baker on the Rise

I made this ten-inch lemon chiffon cake with nectarine topping and streusel filling for my family’s Labor Day BBQ. I am trying to get back in sync with my fellow TWD bakers. Summer for my family has been filled with camping trips away from my kitchen. I’ve had my fill of s’mores and I am ready for some serious baking.

You can find the recipe here at this week’s hosts: The Double Trouble Kitchen and The Little French Bakery.

In the cake world, chiffon lives somewhere between batter cakes and foam cakes. Vegetable oil is a key ingredient. While this makes for a very moist cake it is hard to beat air into oil. So a chiffon cake relies on both leavenings like baking powder and baking soda and beating egg whites until stiff and folding them into the cake batter before baking.

Without the richness of butter in the batter like…

View original post 143 more words

Leave a Reply

