Organizing recipes

20130107-160437.jpg

Recently I moved my living room around to help it feel a bit more open. In doing that I also packed away some of my less used cookbooks so the (cook)book shelf looked less cluttered and more open as well. (Most of my less ‘baking related’ cookbooks are above my fridge.)

20130107-163805.jpg

20130107-163811.jpg

Once that was done it was time to finally organize all the random recipes I had all over: from culinary school, the Internet, my grandmother, and from friends.

20130107-160958.jpg

20130107-161004.jpg

#1 I grabbed a four pack of new 3 ring binders from Costco.

#2 – I put scrapbook paper in the front and side of the binder.

#3 – I gathered up the dividers and page protectors and set to work.

I starred with the recipes from Pastry school and culinary school since they were already started.
Here is the one from pastry school.

20130107-161331.jpg

This one is from culinary, not as pretty but functional for now. (Some of the recipe packets seem to still be MIA, I’m hoping they are in my papers from before my last move) – (sadly this class was never finished due to circumstances with the school management)

20130107-162602.jpg
Here is my binder for printed recipes, all the ones from the Internet and friends.
(I need about a million for page protectors for this one.)

Categories I’m thinking:
Breakfast, savory.
Breakfast, sweet.
Breakfast, breads.
Yeast bread.
Cookies.
Candy.
Cake and cupcakes.
Cake planning.
Misc, baked goodies. (Snack cakes, bars, etc.)
Egg doughs. (Pâté a Choux, etc)
Meals, Chicken.
Meals, Beef.
Meals, Pork.
Meals, Pasta.
Meals, Fish.
Meals, Misc.
Crockpot.
Soup.
Freezer cooking.
(I’m sure there will be more, but that’s it for now)

20130107-162613.jpg

And last a binder of my favorite recipes from my incredible Grandmother. She has been done just over ten years now and everyday I still miss cooking and baking with her. (This one still needs a lot of work, I will work on it as the week goes on.)

I’m so glad most of that is done, and I can once again find recipes when I need them. There is still work to do but I’m so happy they will all have nice looking organized binders.

How do you organize your recipes? What categories do you use? I would love to hear your stories!

Also check out:
Sister site: Craft Making and Drag Racing

Hard Wear by Lindsey (Awesome stuff)

Rustified.com – Lifestyle Inspirations from a Renaissance Man (I love his blog- 365 page book for this year, recipes, & daily inspirations)

Rusty J’s Music Site

Leave a Reply

