Eggs!

20130122-003840.jpg

First off I apologize for the state of my coop in these pictures, (I’m cleaning it out today)

Last night I was showing a friend my chickens and their coop via a cell phone flashlight and found 5 eggs!

20130122-003918.jpg

I really should have been checking the nesting boxes! The first week Starla was laying she laid on the coop floor or in the run (even though I have golf balls in the boxes). Everyday since I’ve checked twice a day and collected at least 1 egg everyday. So I was a bit shocked to find 5 eggs that appear to be from one of the my Red girls.

Counting these new 5, my girls have laid 20 eggs in 2 weeks! I’m so excited to finally be able to share them with friends and family 🙂

20130122-204857.jpg

I marked the found 5 with an X since I will need to check them before they are eaten. Since they were not collected promptly they definitely need to be water tested. I will post this when I do it. It cannot be done until we are ready to eat them as doing this will disrupt the cuticle and ultimately let bacteria into the egg

20130122-204924.jpg

What is your egg production difference from winter to summer? Is it minimal or extreme? How many eggs do you get per hen a day in the summer/winter?

Also check out:
Sister site: Craft Making and Drag Racing

Lindsey’s Jewelry: Hard Wear by Lindsey (Awesome stuff)

Rustified.com – Lifestyle Inspirations from a Renaissance Man (I love his blog- 365 page book for this year, recipes, & daily inspirations)

Rusty J’s Music Site

2 responses

Leave a Reply

